Supervisory Meeting and Monthly Research Plan

I have had a constructive meeting with both of my two excellent supervisors Dr. Angela Piccini (Research Blog: http://aapiccini.wordpress.com/)  and Dr. Charlotte Crofts ( Research Blog:http://curzonproject.wordpress.com) on 15 May 2013.  On the meeting we discussed the possible cases studies for my research, which are Life of Pi (Ang Lee, 2012), Hugo (Scorsese, 2012), Harry Potter series and the Lord of Rings trilogy.

By analyzing the key compositing sequences in the films, reading articles in visual effects magazines such as Cinefex as well as discussing with my supervisors, I think the five films are good examples for investigating the aesthetics of digital compositing and the transnational networks among the post-production pipeline of contemporary popular cinema.

The photorealistic visual effects in these films, which intended to be invisible for the audience in cinema, actually are the outcomes of the teamwork of digital artists across countries in various post-production companies. I am interested in doing further research into these films especially the transnational and global compositing practice of them. My supervisors are very encouraging for me to conducting this part of research. They also advice me looking at a wider range of films which involves digital compositing.

Example of the transnational compositing practice:

The companies, which produced photorealism visual effects for film

Life of Pi (Ang Lee, 2012)

images

•           Legacy Effects (US)

•           Rhythm and Hues (US)

•           Moving Picture Company (UK)

•          BUF ( Fr)

•           Crazy Horse Effects ( US)

•           Lola Visual Effects (US)

•           LOOK! Effects (US)

•           Christov Effects and Design (US)

•           Legend3D (US)

•           Reliance Media Works VFX (US)

•           Animal Makers (US)

•           Gimzi Studios (US)

In addition, we also discussed the background information and filmographies of production companies such as Animal Logic, Double Negative, Industrial light and Magic, Pixomondo, The Motion picture company, Weta digital and so on. We all agreed that it is crucial for research to interview people in these companies.

In order to progress my research effectively we also worked out a monthly plan. I agreed to fulfill the following interesting task one week before our next meeting, which in on 21st of June:

1)    I will do further construction for my research blog and keep updating the latest information of my research on it.

2)    I will edit the interview requested letter and survey monkey questions I drafted with the comments provides by both of my supervisors.

3)    I will join the online research discussion space MECCSA and BAFTSS. I will also post my survey monkey question on them.

4)    I will identify who I am going to contact the post-production companies I interested in interview.

5)    I will do further investigation around the post-production companies I interested in interview, which aims to have a specific understanding about which sequences in which films they have worked for, collecting relevant information on their website as well as trade magazines, and asking more interview questions. I will also find out which films are in production in these companies.

6)    I will do a creative task, which is trying to use a world map to organize the data of the post-production companies as well as the films I investigated.

7)    I will write an article analyzing the interview of Crystal CG Visual Effects Company (Website: http://www.crystalcg.com/EN/index.aspx ) I did in China.

8)    I will keep reporting the literature I read and film I watched by writing.

I am looking forward to discuss with my supervisor about my research next time.

 

3 thoughts on “Supervisory Meeting and Monthly Research Plan

  1. Great to see you blogging more about your research! You effectively summarize our supervision meeting and I look forward to reading your posts on what you’re reading and what you’re watching.

  2. I just could not depart your web site before suggesting that I really enjoyed the usual
    info an individual supply on your visitors? Is gonna be again incessantly to
    check out new posts

Leave a Reply

